Young Inventors' Award 2016

TKK YIA 2016

The Tan Kah Kee Young Inventors' Award 2016 Presentation Ceremony was successfully held on . View photographs of the ceremony and exhibition here.


Online Application Period -
Shortlisting Period
Interview for Shortlisted Participants
- Junior Section
- Student Section
Interview for Shortlisted Participants
- Senior Section
- Open Section
Interview for Shortlisted Participants
- Defence Science Section
Second Interview
- Junior Section
- Student Section
- Defence Science Section
Result Announcement
Award Presentation Ceremony
Exhibition -

Note: dates stated for the interviews are fixed - no changes will be allowed.


  • Singapore Citizens or Permanent Residents (PRs)
  • Non-Singapore citizens or non-PRs who are residing in Singapore winners will only be eligible to receive Special Awards (only medals and/or certificates).
  • For Junior Student, Student and Senior Student sections, participants must be full-time students.
  • Participants shall meet the age requirement of the specific section as shown below:
    • Junior Student: Below 13*
    • Student: Below 19*
    • Senior Student: Below 25*
    • Defence Science: Below 36*
    * on 31 Dec 2016


Projects will be scored on Creativity, Originality & Practicality.

For Defence Science section, inventions must be relevant to defence and security.

Rules and Conditions

  1. Participants may sign up individually or as a team of not more than 3 members.
  2. For team participation, particulars of all members involved in the invention must be declared. Teams with undeclared members will be disqualified.
  3. If patent has been filed for the invention, patent document shall be submitted upon request.
  4. For Entries which are patented or in progress of patenting, one of the team members must be the principal investigator of the patent. The contributions / shares of the team members in the patent must also be clearly stated.
  5. All applications must be submitted online within the Online Application Period. Participants are required to upload or send in Project Details File according to the template. An entry will be disqualified if its Project Details File submitted fails to follow the template.
  6. Participants are allowed to submit more than one invention. However, each invention must be submitted online separately.
  7. Participants are NOT allowed to submit the same entry to more than one section.
  8. Entries must be participants' own inventions; any form of plagiarism will be rejected.
  9. Only participants whose projects are shortlisted will be invited for interview.
  10. Participants shall bear all costs incurred in submitting entries and invention prototypes. Participants should get their prototypes ready upon submitting their entries. However, they are only required to bring in their prototypes and present to the judging panel when they turn up for interview or as and when requested by the judging panel.
  11. The organisers will not be responsible for any loss of patent rights.
  12. The judging panel's decision will be final.
  13. Winners are required to provide their prototypes for an exhibition in conjunction with the Award Presentation Ceremony.
  14. While every care will be exercised in the handling of the invention prototypes, the organisers will not be held responsible for any loss or damage.
  15. Participants must retrieve their invention prototypes within 2 weeks after the award presentation and exhibition from the designated place. Otherwise, the organizers reserve the right to dispose the invention prototypes.
  16. The rules and regulations are subject to change.


Junior Student

AwardPrize (SGD)


AwardPrize (SGD)

Senior Student

AwardPrize (SGD)

Open / Defence

AwardPrize (SGD)

School Award

For Junior Student and Student sections, cash awards of S$3,000, S$2,000 and S$1,000 will be given to schools with outstanding participation and quality entries.


Junior Student

Mr Daniel Tan Kim Khoon
A/P Jason Tan Seng ChongSenior Lecturer
Natural Sciences & Science Education (NSSE)
National Institute of Education
Mr Lim Yeow Khee
Mr Richard Lim
Mr Teh Bok Seng
Mr Darrel Chua
Ms Kamaria Bte A. GhaniTKKYIA Committee
Prof Lim HockTKKYIA Committee
Mr Roderick Chia
Dr Valdew Singh
Dr Leong Mun Kew


Dr Charles Chew
Prof Goh Cho Hong JamesProfessor and Head
Department of Biomedical Engineering
A/P Kwek Leong Chuan
Dr Low Hwee Boon
Mr Sarath
Dr W.A.M. Alwis
Mdm Chia Soo Chin
Mr Lim Poh Seng
Mr Ng Kim Tean
Mr Ser Jin
Prof Wong Lim Soon
Ms Dang Bee Yoke, Tricia
Mr Hui Wing Feh
A/P Lim Tit Meng
Prof Ong Choon Nam
Mr Soon Tats FahDeputy Director (Industrial Design), School of Design
Nanyang Polytechnic
A/P Yip Teck Hong

Senior Student / Open

Prof Ong Choon NamDirector
NUS Environmental Research Institute
A/P Ren Ee Chee
A/P Low Boon Chuan
Prof Wong Lim Soon
Dr Tham Jo Yew
Dr Ngair Teow Hin
A/P Tan Ming Jen
Prof Lim Hock
A/P Tan Yap Peng
Dr Low Hwee Boon
A/P Lee Kim Seng
Mr Herbert Ang
A/P Kwek Leong Chuan
A/P Eddie Ng Yin Kwee
Mr Goh Lik Kok
Mr Lim Yewo Khee
A/P Eicher Low
A/P Tai Kang
Prof Tay Cho Jui
Mr Henry Chang



Featured Projects

Samples of awarded projects. Click to download / view (full-size) in new tab.


Photographs taken during the event. Click to download / view (full-size) in new tab.